A Flawless Look For When It’s Hot Af

Yesterday was the first day of July, which means it’s almost time for fireworks, barbecues, and patriotic nail art! Unfortunately, it also means it’s time for crazy high temperatures. I’m a North Carolina girl, so I’m used to high heat, but I still sometimes struggle to get through the day without sweaty clothes and makeup meltdowns.

Today, I decided to focus on putting together a look that would be flawless, even in the sweltering heat.

summer heat final1

For the past few weeks, I’ve been wearing hair extensions, and they’re super fun to play with, but not so convenient when it’s 90 degrees outside. To keep my hair from making me feel ten degrees hotter, I put it in a half fishtail, half pony tail hybrid. This is a super easy style in which you put your hair in a low ponytail, then start making it into a fishtail braid. After you’ve braided a section of about 2-3 inches, you grab another ponytail holder and secure the little braid in place, leaving the rest of the hair out. This look is a creative, unique take on a regular ponytail, and the braid ensures that the hair stays off your neck.

Before I put any makeup on, I washed my brushes. Dirty brushes transfer bacteria all over the face, and this problem gets even worse in the summer when warmer temperatures aid bacteria growth and sweat gets everywhere. For my makeup, I wanted to create a look that was classic and attention grabbing. I chose to center the look on a gorgeous lip color rather than an eye color because eye-makeup is more susceptible to running all over your face in the heat. I picked out a berry lip shade and topped it with a gloss, because matte lipsticks can be very drying and that’s the last thing you need when you’re probably already dehydrated. I also curled my lashes to give myself classic doe-eyes.

summer heat final2

When choosing my outfit, I picked items in light weight cotton fabrics that would allow my skin to breathe. I also chose to wear all black and white to make sure my lip color would really pop!

Leave a Reply

