You Have To Try This Bold Color Look

So often, when we’re in a rush, we gravitate towards neutrals. Heck, I’ve even talked about it on this site! Other times, however, when we have plenty of time to plan an outfit, we still gravitate towards a neutral look (Hello LBD!) when we want to look polished and put together. Lately, celebrities have made all-over neutrals the look of choice. People like Kim Kardashian, the Hadids, and Beyonce are constantly spotted wearing nudes and black everywhere they go. These shades are comfortable, easy to match, and even sophisticated.

But what if you want to be a little more playful?

Today, my roommate and I were headed to the Hudson piers so we could enjoy the sunshine. I wanted to toss something on that would match the bright, playful landscape, but I didn’t have a lot of time to match prints or create a fussy makeup look. I ended up coming with a look I now call, the 2 x 2 x 2.

boldcolor2

For this look you need 3 colors, each of which will be used 2 times. I chose blue, a pinkish red, and champagne. How are these colors used? For my outfit, I used two bright blue pieces: A bright blue skater skirt and a blue trapeze top that I tied in a knot at my waist. This was super easy to put together because even though the shades of blue vary, they work well together. The same goes for most separates in similar shades. I then chose a pinkish red lipstick that I used twice, once on my lips and a second time on my cheeks. Lastly, I chose a champagne highlighter that I used first as a highlight and second as an eyeliner with the help of some eyelid primer and an angled brush. Let’s take a closer look shall we?

boldcolor4

This look is wonderfully bold without being clownish and it only takes a couple of products! After I applied my lipstick, I added three dots of the same lip color to my cheeks and gently smoothed it in with the tip of my finger. Then, I used my angled brush to pick up some of my champagne highlighter and create a shimmery line just above my regular black eyeliner. I then added the highlighter right on top of my cheek bones and smoothed it in to create an extremely natural looking glow.

Who needs neutrals on a gorgeous day like today, amiright?

Leave a Reply

