A Fool-Proof Guide To Casual Weekend Style

So it’s my first weekend since I started my new job as an intern at a major ad agency in New York City. I’ve been super busy all week and after spending my Friday evening at happy hour with a horde of other interns, I honestly couldn’t wait to spend the rest of my weekend taking it easy. My apartment in the city is still pretty sparse, so I decided to spend my day hitting thrift stores. I figured it would be best to keep my look casual and practical for walking and shopping, so I put together a look that can be worn to pretty much any casual place on the weekend. It’s comfortable, easy to put together, and still stylish.

casual weekend final 2

*please excuse the slightly dirty mirror in Housing Works

When putting together a casual weekend look, I like to start with a pair of high-waisted jeans. They give your body a nice curve and look trendy in a hip, vintage sort of way without being too fussy.

I also like to wear a flat shoe when I’m bumming around on the weekends, so I wore a pair of tried and true black sneakers. However, while I was shopping for apartment stuff, I stumbled upon a pair of leopard print flats (pictured below) which might become my new weekend shoe!

If I’m not going out in the evening, I try to keep my makeup simple. I emphasized dewy skin for this look by keeping hydrated and applying highlighter to the tops of my cheekbones. You’ll also see in a photo below that I am wearing natural hued eyeshadows, with a flesh tone shade all over my lid and a slightly more golden shade towards the inner corners to further emphasize bright skin and bright eyes.

casual weekend final 1

I almost always pair my high-waisted jeans with a crop top, but to keep things even more casual, I chose to wear a t-shirt and simply tied it into a knot on the side. I love this option because it looks so effortless, but I chose a t-shirt with a little something going on (studded arms) to keep things interesting. While I want this look to be sort of model-off-duty, I still like to have a piece in my outfit that distinguishes me from the crowd.

Leave a Reply

