5 Ways to Wear Your Jewelry In Your Hair

For the last week, we’ve had some above average temperatures where I live, so I’ve been breaking out some of my lighter, more bohemian clothes. Instead of the thick fabrics and muted colors that I usually sport during this time of year, I’ve been wearing gauzy tops, pastels, and lace. Since I’ve been doing a bohemian vibe this week, I decided I wanted to experiment with hair jewelry. Hair jewelry has been very trendy for the last year or so, but I never bothered to buy any because I was afraid it would quickly go out of style. Since I didn’t have any legitimate hair jewelry in my closet, I decided to try out various ways to use my regular jewelry in my hair instead.

hairjewels

Before creating each of these looks, I gently brushed a dryer sheet over my hair to tame flyaways before working with the jewelry so it wouldn’t get caught in the metalwork.

LOOKS

  1. In the largest picture on the far left, I swept my hair into high bun and fastened it with an elastic. Then, I took a couple of stretch rings with large gemstones on them and attached them to bobby pins. I slipped the bobby pins with jewels into the elastic that held my bun together so it looked like I had large gemstones going around my bun.

  2. In the picture on the top center, I used an ear cuff to sweep my side bangs out of my face. It’s just like using a bobby pin but glitzier! This would work with clip-on earrings as well.

  3. In the bottom center, I used something called a collar clip. Collar clips are like necklaces that you attach to the ends of the collar of your shirt. They used to be very popular a long time ago and I have picked up a few for myself at vintage jewelry stores. I used one with gold chains and pearl-like beads by clipping the ends to the bottom layer of my hair and then covering the clip ends with the top layer of my hair. Lastly, I pulled my hair into pig-tails — although it looks just as good if you wear the hair out.

  4. In the top right photo, I simply wore a necklace over my hair like a bohemian head band. To find a necklace that is about the right size for your head, it should be slightly longer than a choker but shouldn’t go past your clavicle when you wear it on your chest.

  5. In the bottom right, I had an old necklace that had broken years ago. The clasps no longer worked, so I took them off the necklace and threaded bobby pins on the ends instead. I created a delicate, but messy, updo by sectioning my hair into halves, braiding the halves, and wrapping them to the back of my head. Then, I adorned my hair with the necklace/headband to finish it off.

I love these looks because I always want items in my closet to work double duty and have multiple uses. With a little creativity, you can make your wardrobe seem twice as big!

Leave a Reply

