How To Wear Your Favorite Summer Dress In Winter

“People will stare. Make it worth their while.” —Harry Winston

The fashion community will have you believe that style should involve lots of boundaries. Stylists will tell you things like:

Don’t wear bold eye and lip colors at the same time!

Don’t mix black and brown!

Don’t wear sneakers with dresses!

Me? I hate the word “don’t”. Fashion is art and art should be limitless. That’s why, when I woke up this morning wanting to wear my favorite summer dress, I decided to throw caution to the very cold wind outside. Outside it was snowing, but inside I was determined.

I began raiding my closet for layering options and wintry motifs that I could mix with my summer dress to make it workable in the winter. Because who cares that these types of light, flowy dresses are normally reserved for summer? Rules are for suckers.

photojoiner (2)

To wear my summer dress in winter, I layered it over a long sleeved, lace top made of a thick , warm material. My dress is covered in daisies, so I used cream colored accents to pick up the colors in the print. I used a toasty, knit infinity scarf and cream colored thigh-highs that I rolled down to peek over cognac, knee-length boots. To keep the outfit anchored, I took a skinny belt and wrapped it around my waist, cinching the layers together. Had it been under 20 degrees or so, I probably would have added some sheer tights and a thick coat as well.

If you want to try a similar look without a lot of effort, I suggest layering your favorite summer dress over a tight long-sleeved top, adding warm legwear, boots, and other warm accessories.And maybe don a devil-may-care attitude too. You earned it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

