How To Do The Preppy Look And Not Look Like Jailbait

Several months ago, I watched the above documentary on Netflix. While the subject is often considered disgusting and repulsive, the documentary explored a lot of less talked about opinions from the scientific community that questioned the difference between “pedophiles” and “regular men”. The issue is, in our culture, we idolize youth as the ultimate necessity of beauty and most men desire to date women who look young. As a result, preppy, schoolgirl, lolita-esque fashion is always going in and out of the runway shows — even though the we don’t want older men being attracted to little girls.

This documentary really got me thinking about my own personal style.  I’m a girly-girl. I like lace and bows and glitter… and I’m not ashamed. My whole life, I have gravitated to clothes reminiscent of Blair Waldorf in Gossip Girl or those schoolgirl Halloween costumes. The problem is, I look extremely young for my age already and my clothes make me look even younger. Like way younger. Like, people see me on dates and think I’m an abducted child type of younger.

Since I turned 20, I decided I didn’t want to be a part of this cultural phenomenon that results in the glorification of young girls as sex objects . Yet I still wanted to hold on to my preppy roots.  I have found the best way to do so, is to play with current trends a little, and turn some of the preppy tropes on their heads. Here’s an example of the updated preppy style for grown women.

prepfinal

As you can see, I’m still rocking some of the typical preppy fair (plaid mini-skirt, exposed socks, flat shoe), but I gave it an adult update with current trends and tweaks. I chose to do a half-down, half-bun hair style because it’s a really popular style right now and is associated with grungier looks. I also chose a mock neck sweater rather than an expected button down. Rather than choosing a knee-length sock, I picked ankle-length since it makes my legs look longer and it’s less expected. Lastly, I topped it all off with a great pair of round shades and full brows, which are both always stylish and adult.

Leave a Reply

